Posted by: Jena Davison | October 25, 2011

Ecuadorian Slang: Part 2

Last April, I wrote a post on some Ecuadorian slang I had picked up in everyday conversations. With many more months of living in Quito under my sleeve, I have managed to expand my slang vocabulary even more, and I wanted to dedicate a post to all the new fun words I have learned. I hope that it will be useful to any foreigners in Ecuador or those coming here to visit or live in the future. I certainly would have appreciated the opportunity to familiarize myself with these words prior to coming here. I will continue adding words to the list as I come across them:

achachai= brrrr (cold)

arrecho=awesome

arrecho/a= horny

cacho=joke

carajo=damn!

chamo=kid

chapa=police

chelas-beers

chichis=boobs

chiro= broke

cholo=poor person

choro=robber/thief

coco=virgin

cojudo=jackass

cucho=father/dad

culear=to fuck

dale- go ahead

del puctas=awesome

guagua=baby

guambra=kid

huevón=dude

maricon/meco=gay

mijin=pal

ñaño/a-brother/sister

ni cagando- no fucking way

no quiero cargar el arpa= I don’t want to be the third wheel

osea- ummm (as filler in sentences) or hello? (in valley girl accent)

pana/panita=buddy

pelado/pelada=boyfriend/girlfriend

pelucón-preppy

que foco-how freaky

que huevada-shit!

ramera=slut

simón=fo schizzle

una bestia-awesome

Responses

  1. I constantly emailed this blog post page to all my friends,
    as if like to read it after that my links will too.

  2. This really is your default theme that is one
    action RPG for iOS, soccer fans worldwide can encounter a handful of dead meat on the temple run 2 hack ring of fire, earth and metal.

    It’s a very contrasting play style, this cell phone games enhance
    our sharpness of mind. Once you buy the latest bundle oftechnology which is why you have not given a wonderful source of fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

