Posted by: Jena Davison | December 9, 2010

The Wailers

It seems ironic to me that the closest I will ever come to Bob Marley occurred while I was in Quito, of all places. I always imagined I’d be surrounded by palm trees and stretches of beach–or at least in the presence of some dreaded rastafarians–but instead, I was encompassed by the Andes mountains and in the company of thousands of Ecuadorians. As part of Fiestas de Quito, a celebration of Quito’s independence from Spain and its founding, The Wailers, Bob Marley’s band, headlined a concert at Feria Quitumbe.

The city of Quito organized a fair in the South of Quito with hundreds of tents featuring entertainment, traditional food and music. They were set up in a large open space near the southern bus terminal, Quitumbe. It was kind of a pain in the butt to get to, but as my friend Kimrey pointed out, it made a statement about southern Quito in general–that there is much more to Quito than where many of us live and work and that thousands of Ecuadorians make the exact same reverse commute five days a week to go to work. Quito really is gigantic; the southern part of Quito seems to go on for miles and miles and miles and miles. In nine months of living here, that was actually the first time I had been to that part of Quito, minus cabbing it directly to the bus terminal to catch a bus to the beach.

Anyways, The Wailers were fantastic and played most of their greatest hits including “Get Up, Stand Up,” “Redemption Song,” “Exodus,” “Jammin’,” “Could You Be Loved,” “No Woman, No Cry,” “One Love,” and “I Shot the Sheriff,” among others. If I didn’t know Bob Marley was dead, I would have thought I was in his presense.

Here are some videos segments of the concert:

Leave a Reply

Categories

