Posted by: Jena Davison | October 8, 2009

Buenos Dias de Buenos Aires!

One adventure down, many more to come. So remember when I said I was supposed to get into Bunos Aires at 9:20am? I actually did not get to the apartment where I am staying until 9:20pm instead!!! My flight from Newark transferred in Houston, TX, at none other than George W. Bush International Airport. As if the name was not off-putting enough, I officially never want to step foot in it again. When I arrived in Houston, the flight to B.A. was delayed two hours due to maintenance problems. I was a little annoyed because I was dying to get to Argentina already, but just read my book and waited patiently. At about 10pm, we heard word that we may not be leaving until 2am, making the former delay seem like a God send. I drank some coffee and decided to just wait it out, reading a bit more and pacing the airport to keep the circulation going in my legs.

About 45 minutes later, they announced that the flight would be delayed overnight and that we would be put up in the Marriot hotel two terminals down. With a sigh of frustration, I followed the hoard of people rushing to the hotel and assumed my place in line to check in. Without a phone or internet access, I was really stressing out about getting in contact with Heather and Cuk, who I am staying with here, to let them know about my change of plans. I ended up paying $6 for 20 minutes of internet, but with my stroke of luck, the internet connectivity was broken. I really was near tears, but calmed myself down and reminded myself that I need to stay flexible in all my plans and this would be merely the first test of my patience. A really nice guy who worked at the hotel and who happened to be from New Jersey, hence our immediate connection, allowed me to use the company computer just to send a quick email to them. I was completely wired from the coffee so I made conversation with a Argentine guy who was in a rock band and who had been traveling the U.S. to buy guitars. Shortly after, I decided to attempt sleep and went up to my room to lie down.

I spent most of the night tossing and turning, but slept about 3 1/2 hours until I was awoken by the hotel wake-up call at 5am. I checked out and waited for the train to terminal E where my flight was leaving from. While waiting for the train, I met an Argentine guy named Daniel and we immediately struck up conversation–originally about our state of exhaustion and then about everything related to our lives in general. He was super nice and we spent the morning hours in the terminal together, complete with coffee and lots of conversation. He is a video game developer and was just returning from a video game conference in L.A. After the flight, he met me at the baggage claim and we took a cab together to my location. The delay really ended up being a blessing in disguise because I met my first Argentine friend and he helped alleviate all the anxiety I had about arriving in Buenos Aires at night and with getting a legitimate cab that wouldn’t rip me off. I am forever thankful for his generosity and helpfulness. It was such a relief arriving safely and soundly to Heather and Cuk’s apartment. They live in Palermo Viejo, which is supposedly a really nice neighborhood. Last night I just took it easy and caught up with them. I tried to get some sleep even though my sleep cycle is all out of whack right now. I am about to go explore Buenos Aires by day! The weather is perfect: beautiful and sunny. I’ll update soon!

Responses

  1. Glad you made it there safe! Sounds like your adventures started from when you left New Jersey. I look forward to continuing to read your blog 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

